Discernment and Discovery in All Things

Kristina Ralston
3 min readNov 10, 2020

With so much swirl and churn around us right now, discernment seems like a lofty goal. Something to aspire to, something we know to be important, and also something that eludes us when we need it most. How do we keep a vigilant and discerning eye towards our relationships, our careers, our habits, our emotions, our boundaries when everything seems to shift, week after week after week? Is it even possible to stay the discernment course when so much asks us to forsake it in favor of the quick fix, the ready answer, or the smooth distraction? That slick charlatan designed to make us “feel” better in the moment, who ends up stealing our money and self-respect while leaving us destitute by the side of the road, with nary a glance backward.

The key to cultivating discernment in all things is a spirit of discovery and a willingness to be curious rather than judgmental. To ask ourselves repeatedly, what is there to learn from the situation or the person in front of me? What is there to see? What am I missing (or flat-out ignoring) that I must see in order for deeper self-awareness and true growth to occur?

I marvel at how the dismantling of life as usual has opened up space within myself to be more discerning. To consider why I do the things I do, and if I want to continue doing them. To see what’s really there. In terms of the people in my life, I defer to…

--

--

Kristina Ralston

Change strategist and leadership coach. Let’s change the conversation around change, together. Find out how at: empactchangeconsulting.com